Showing all 6 results

  • RTRLP012(2LP)

    0 out of 5

    Shelly Manne
    Jazz From The Pacific Northwest – RSD 2024
    Reel To Real

    Jazz from The Pacific Northwest combines two previously unissued concert recordings from one of the greatest jazz drummers of all-time, Shelly Manne. The first recording features Monty Budwig on bass, Russ Freeman on piano, Stu Williamson on trumpet, and Herb Geller on flute and alto saxophone recorded at the Monterey Jazz Festival on October 4, 1958. The second recording features Hampton Hawes on piano, Frank Strozier on flute and alto saxophone, Conte Condoli on trumpet and guest vocalist Ruth Price on two tracks recorded at the Penthouse jazz club in Seattle on September 7 and 15, 1966. This hand-numbered, limited-edition to 3,000, double-LP set was transferred from the original tape reels and is pressed on 180-gram vinyl. The deluxe package includes an extensive 16-page booklet with essays by renowned archival producer Zev Feldman and label owner/producer/musician Cory Weeds, plus passages from Tim Jackson of the Monterey Jazz Festival, Charlie Puzzo Jr. from the Penthouse, and engineer/radio host Jim Wilke; interviews from musicians Jim Keltner, Peter Erskine, Ruth Price, Bill Holman and Joe LaBarbera; and rare photos and memorabilia. LP mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio. New York City-born Manne rose to fame in the 1950s after moving to Los Angeles and is known as a founding father of the “West Coast Jazz” scene. He is highly regarded as one of the most versatile and talented drummers of the day performing with countless legends including Andre Previn, Sonny Rollins, Stan Kenton, Charlie Ventura, Kai Winding and many others. Manne teamed up with Previn and Lenny Vinegar to produce the first jazz album of a Broadway score for their version of “My Fair Lady,” and he has numerous television/movie credits along with performing and composing scores. His recorded works include numerous albums for Capitol, Atlantic, Impulse!, Mainstream, Contemporary, Flying Dutchman and other international labels.

    Add to cart
  • AVRJ8497-45(2)

    0 out of 5

    Shelly Manne & Bill Evans


    • Numbered, Limited Edition
    • Only the 1st 1,000 Copies are Numbered!
    • Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound!
    • Cut from the Absolute Original Analog Master Tapes!
    • 200 Gram, 45rpm 2LP
    • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
    • Gatefold Jacket

    Bill Evans, piano
    Monty Budwig, bass
    Shelly Manne, drums

    1. The Washington Twist
    2. Danny Boy
    3. Let's Go Back to The Waltz
    4. With a Song In My Heart
    5. Goodbye
    6. I Believe In You


    Read More
  • Hot


    0 out of 5

    Shelly Manne


    • Limited Edition
    • Only the 1st 1,500 Copies are Numbered!
    • 45rpm
    • 180g Vinyl
    • Double LP
    • Gatefold jacket
    • Pressed by RTI

    Shelly Manne, drums
    Coleman Hawkins, saxophone
    Hank Jones, piano
    Eddie Costa, keyboards, vibes
    George Duvivier, bass

    1. Take the “A” Train
    2. The Sicks of Us
    3. Slowly
    4. Lean on Me
    5. Cherokee
    6. Me and Some Drums

    Read More
  • OJC-336(S-7527)

    0 out of 5

    Modern Jazz Performances Of Songs
    From My Fair Lady
    Shelly Manne and His Friends

    Track Listing:

    Side 1
    1. Get Me To The Church on Time
    2. On The Street Where You Live
    3. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
    4. Wouldn't It Be Loverly

    Side 2
    1. Ascot Gavotte
    2. Show Me
    3. With A Little Bit of Luck
    4. I Could Have Danced All Night

    Add to cart
  • OJC-156(C-7535)

    0 out of 5

    The Poll Winners
    Barney Kessel, Ray Brown & Shelly Manne

    Track Listing:

    Side 1
    1. Jordu
    2. Satin Doll
    3. It Could Happen to You
    4. Mean to Me

    Side 2
    5. Don't Worry 'bout Me
    6. On Green Dolphin Street
    7. You Go to My Head
    8. Minor Mood
    9. Nagasaki

    Add to cart

Showing all 6 results